The Outback Arts Board

The Outback Arts board is made up of five shire representatives and three individuals or community organisation representatives who have an interest in arts and culture in their community and wish to have a direct involvement through Outback Arts.

The 2018 Outback Arts board is made up of:

Kylie Harvey (Chair)

Independent community member

Kylie has a deep understanding of how arts plays a vital role in building a cohesive and creative community. She has a personal art practice spanning a wide range of mediums and is an active member of the Cobar Arts Council. She enjoys helping others reach their creative potential. You can find her recipes in the cooking section of the new Far West Living magazine, as well as a solid online following for her creations as ‘Indigo and Quince’.

Cr Jane Keir OAM

Council Representative from Walgett Shire Council

Jane was elected as a councillor to the Walgett Shire Council in September 2008 and expressed an interest in becoming a board member of Outback Arts because she has a passion for the outback, particularly Come By Chance, where she is a 5th generation resident. Jane says that she has no artistic qualities but always takes an interest in all things artistic be it in any medium because “art enriches our lives.”

Cr Pauline Serdity

Council Representative from Warren Shire Council

Pauline has been on the board since 2000. She spent 4 years as the Chairperson and has also served as Treasurer and Secretary. She is a Councillor and Deputy Mayor on the Warren Shire Council, is a member of the Warren Arts Council and Chairperson/Secretary of the Warren Support Services Interagency & Youth Sub Committee.

Pauline is the 2017 Outback Arts Treasurer.

Angela Shepherd

Council Representative from Cobar Shire Council

Angela joined the Board in 2012 and works as the Special Projects Officer for Cobar Shire Council. She has a strong belief in promoting and developing the artistic skills within Cobar. She is keen to increase the involvement of the community in the arts and to give locals the opportunity to further develop the wonderful skills already in the community.

Cr John ‘Bunda’ Walker

Council representative for Coonamble Shire Council

Elected to Council in again in 2016, Bunda joined the Board to replace long standing member Bill Burnheim. Bunda is involved with the local radio and a long standing support of the arts community.

Cr John Thompson

Council Representative from Bourke Shire Council

John joined the Outback Arts board in 2016 and has been an active member of the Bourke community for many years.

Eric Crisp

Independent Community Member

Eric jumped on board the board in 2017. Eric is from Warren and joined to further his passion for his community mainly Aboriginal culture and heritage.

Sally Torr

Independent Community Member

Sally is an active member of the Bourke Arts Council and is instrumental in various community organisations and projects.

Donna Jefferies

Council Representative from Brewarrina Shire Council

Brewarrina rejoined the Outback Arts artistic program in 2017 and Donna is keen to see some public art and promotion of Brewarrina cultural identity.